The Supreme Court comprises a Chief Justice, four resident judges, sixteen additional judges (each of whose primary commission is as a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia), and an Associate Judge who has broad jurisdiction in personal injuries matters. In addition the Executive may appoint acting judges to assist in the work of the Court. Appointment for acting judges may only be for periods of up to 12 months.

Chief Justice


The Honourable Chief Justice Helen Gay Murrell

Biography (PDF 58KB)



The Honourable Justice John Dominic Burns

Biography (PDF 58KB)

The Honourable Justice Michael Elkaim

Biography (PDF 141KB)

The Honourable Justice David Mossop

Biography (PDF 251KB)

The Honourable Justice Chrissa Loukas-Karlsson

Biography (PDF 144KB)

Associate Judge


The Honourable Associate Justice Verity Alexandra McWilliam

Biography (PDF 254KB)